RSS

Grep / ACK

15 Oct

Grep / ACK

Ack can be replacement for grep…..

# yum install ack

Suppose you are on /var/www/html, here you want to search text “svnlabs” in all files in current directory…. you can use:

# ack svnlabs
# man ack    (for more options)

grep : print lines matching a pattern.

find : search for files in a directory.

# grep -iR 'svnlabs' *.txt 
(It will search svnlabs in all text files in current directory)

Sources:
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/unix-linux-finding-files-by-content/
http://www.doyourself.org/index.php?page=5&ipp=10&category=linux
http://blog.amit-agarwal.co.in/2009/08/28/ack-on-solaris-grep-recursively/

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2009 in Fedora, LAMP, Linux, Tips, Tricks

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Grep / ACK

  1. Аверин

    November 18, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Спасибо, пост вправду толково нописан е по делу, есть что почерпнуть.

     
  2. forexstrat_egy

    December 2, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    I am definitely bookmarking this page and sharing it with my friends.

    🙂

     
  3. whey.protein.side.effects

    December 12, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Very outstanding site.
    The info here is genuinely helpful.

    I will give it to my friends.

    Cheers

     
  4. Forex Exchange

    December 20, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    I somehow dont agree with a few things, but its great anyways.

     
  5. Erandyaneksak

    December 23, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would love to mention that this post extremely forced me to try and do therefore! really nice post. thanks, here’s a similar subject you’ll like Aquired Pulmonary Hypertensioneatment

     
  6. obelozysory

    December 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm

     
  7. SegeAmopump

    December 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    http://www.proemtechnologies.com/ – Proem Technologies

     
  8. FefTrierb

    December 23, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Good Luck

    http://www.call2run.com – My Blog

     
  9. Aidegekifsmig

    January 3, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Yo! Awesome piece of writing! I have been a frequent website visitor (alot more like addict :P) of the website truthfully I had a question. I am not necessarily absolutely certain if its the right web site to question, but you’ve got no spam comments. I recieve comments such as YejqwjTexas ColocationWtsDtCc on a regular basis. Are able to you help me? Appreciate it.

     
  10. Thournoth

    March 8, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Hello there guys.
    I am aware it not a related enquiry, but does someone recognise what form of software this 80’s music site is employing? .
    I wanted to open a site just as that, but I don’t know the direction to go…
    thank you very much,
    Dan.

     

Leave a Reply

 
